

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

PRESIDENT Fawn R. Sharp Quinault Indian Nation

1ST VICE PRESIDENT

Aaron Payment

Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians

RECORDING SECRETARY Juana Majel-Dixon Pauma Band of Luiseño Indians

TREASURER Shannon Holsey Stockbridge-Munsee Band of Mohican Indians

REGIONAL VICE PRESIDENTS

ALASKA **Rob Sanderson, Jr.** Tlingit & Haida Indian Tribes of Alaska

EASTERN OKLAHOMA Norman Hildebrand Wyandotte Nation

GREAT PLAINS Larry Wright, Jr. Ponca Tribe of Nebraska

MIDWEST Rebecca Crooks-Stratton Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux Community

NORTHEAST Tina Abrams Seneca Nation of Indians

NORTHWEST Leonard Forsman Suquamish Tribe

PACIFIC Erica Rae Macias Cahuilla Band of Indians

ROCKY MOUNTAIN Mark Pollock Blackfeet Nation

SOUTHEAST Nancy Carnley Ma-Chis Lower Creek Indian Tribe of Alahama

SOUTHERN PLAINS Robert Tippeconnie Comanche Nation

SOUTHWEST Vacant

WESTERN Vacant

CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER
Kevin Allis
FOREST COUNTY POTAWATOMI

NCAI HEADQUARTERS

1516 P Street, N.W. Washington, DC 20005 202.466.7767 202.466.7797 fax www.ncai.org

NATIONAL CONGRESS OF AMERICAN INDIANS

The National Congress of American Indians Resolution # PDX-20-055

TITLE: NAHASDA Reauthorization

WHEREAS, we, the members of the National Congress of American Indians of the United States, invoking the divine blessing of the Creator upon our efforts and purposes, in order to preserve for ourselves and our descendants the inherent sovereign rights of our Indian nations, rights secured under Indian treaties and agreements with the United States, and all other rights and benefits to which we are entitled under the laws and Constitution of the United States, to enlighten the public toward a better understanding of the Indian people, to preserve Indian cultural values, and otherwise promote the health, safety and welfare of the Indian people, do hereby establish and submit the following resolution; and

WHEREAS, the National Congress of American Indians (NCAI) was established in 1944 and is the oldest and largest national organization of American Indian and Alaska Native tribal governments; and

WHEREAS, the Native American Housing Assistance and Self Determination Act (NAHASDA) of 1996 reorganized how the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development's housing assistance is provided to Indian Tribes by eliminating several separate programs and replacing them with the Indian Housing Block Grant (IHBG), a formula-based grant program, and the Title VI Loan Guarantee, which provides financing guarantees to Indian Tribes for private market loans in order to develop affordable housing; and

WHEREAS, The Indian Housing Block Grant ("IHBG") is the single largest source of federal funding for housing in Indian Country; and

WHEREAS, in 2002 and 2008, NAHASDA was reauthorized for a period of five years; and although authorization for NAHASDA expired in 2013, Congress has continued to fund the program annually through the appropriations process.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that NCAI does hereby urge Congress to reauthorize NAHASDA for a period of ten (10) years through 2031; and

BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED, that this resolution shall be the policy of NCAI until it is withdrawn or modified by subsequent resolution.

CERTIFICATION

The foregoing resolution was adopted by the General Assembly at the 2020 Virtual Annual Session of the National Congress of American Indians, held on November 8-13, 2020, with a quorum present.

Fawn Sharp, President

ATTEST:

Juana Majel Dixon, Recording Secretary